Are you thinking and looking for the same question: how do you block a person from your Facebook account? Blocking someone on Facebook is not a difficult task; you can easily do it with the help of the Facebook app and website in a browser. In this article, you will learn how you can block someone on Facebook.
How to Block Someone on Facebook?
There can be many reasons why you want to block someone from your Facebook profile. Note that after blocking someone, they will not be able to see any of your posts, comments, thoughts, stories, and live. So, if you have finally decided that for sure you want to block the profile of a person, then you can move forward with some simple methods.
It does not matter what you are using: Android, iPhone, laptop, or Macbook. You can block a person from any mode of device by making sure that you have followed the methods in a step-by-step manner. Otherwise, the person will not get blocked and will irritate you again. Move ahead and see some of the best methods.
Via Desktop Browser
If you use Facebook from your computer using a browser, here’s how you can block a person on the platform.
1. Open the Facebook website in a browser and log in to your account.
2. Head over to the user’s account you wish to block.
3. Under the profile, you will see the three-dot icon; tap on it.
4. Select Block from the context menu.
5. Finally, tap on Confirm to confirm the action.
Via Facebook App
If you are browsing Facebook from its mobile app, follow the below steps to block a person:
1. Open the Facebook app on your phone and log in to your account if you have not already.
2. Tap on the search button.
3. After tapping on the search button, type the name of the person you want to block. After typing the name, tap on the search button, and you will see some of the similar profiles for that particular name.
4. Now, tap on the profile of the person you want to block. After tapping on it, you will get to the profile page of the person.
5. Here, you will see the three-dot icon under the profile; tap on it.
6. Finally, tap on Block from the menu that appears and confirm the action by tapping on Block.
Look how easy it is to block someone with the Facebook app. Ensure that you have followed the steps in the best possible manner to have such effects.
Via Mobile Browser
If you browse Facebook on your mobile device but from a mobile browser and not with the Facebook app, you need to follow the below steps to block a person.
1. Open a browser and visit the Facebook website.
2. Log in to your account using the credentials.
3. Head over to the user’s profile whom you want to block.
4. Click on the three-dot icon under their profile.
5. Tap on Block from the menu options that show, and confirm it by tapping Block.
Via Facebook Messenger
You can also block a user in Facebook Messenger. Follow the steps below to do so.
1. Open the Facebook Messenger app, then open the chat of the person you wish to block.
2. Click on the ‘i’ icon at the top-right side.
3. Under the Privacy section, tap on Block.
4. Now, select whether you want to block messages and calls or the Facebook profile by tapping on the minus or ‘-‘ icon next to it. In our case, where we are blocking the Facebook profile, you need to tap on the minus icon next to Block on Facebook.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q. Can I Block Someone on Facebook Through Comments They Make?
Yes, you can block someone right from the comments they have made. To do so, tap on the profile icon of the person, and you will be directed to the profile of that person. Now, click on the three-dot icon and select Block, then confirm it.
Q. What Happens When I Block Someone on Facebook?
When you block someone on Facebook, they can no longer see your comments, pictures, statuses, or updates. They will also be unable to send you messages or tag you. Also, when they search your name on Facebook, your profile will not appear in the results. Your tags are immediately removed from their profile, and they are unable to view your tags on mutual friends’ stuff.
Q. Can I Block Someone on Facebook Without Letting Them Know?
Yes, you can block someone without informing them by following the steps mentioned in the article. Blocking is intended to be mysterious, and alerting blocked users when someone blocks them defeats the point; hence, when you block a person, they will not get any notification for the same. However, there are certain ways in which they determine whether or not someone blocks them.
So, these are the ways by which you can block someone on Facebook. I hope you find this article helpful; if so, share it with your friends and family.