WhatsApp allows people to stay in touch with friends, family, and colleagues. However, there may be occasions when you notice that a particular contact is not replying to your messages, and you begin to worry that they have blocked you. Being blocked on WhatsApp can be an odd and frustrating experience, but there are many signs that can help you decide whether or not you’ve been blocked. In this article, you will learn if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp or not.
How to Know If Someone Has Blocked You On WhatsApp Or Not?
With instant messaging platforms like WhatsApp, staying connected with friends, family, and colleagues has never been easier. However, what happens when a once-vibrant conversation suddenly and abruptly stops? Maybe you sent a message, and it never got delivered. Or perhaps you can’t see their profile picture or status updates anymore.
Have you ever wondered if you’ve been blocked on WhatsApp after encountering these situations? We’ve all been there—that sinking feeling when your messages go unanswered. It’s a situation that can leave you feeling puzzled and curious. After all, who wouldn’t want to know if they’d been blocked? It’s natural.
Inspecting if you are blocked on WhatsApp is not a big deal. There are nine ways of finding this out, and all of them are time-efficient.
But many of them have conditions and exceptions. So it would be excellent if you cross-checked the results. Are you ready to dive into the topic? Yes? Let’s start.
Check the Double Tick On Your Message
The first and easiest method of checking if you are blocked is by texting them. Just text them once and then see if the message has a double tick.
A double tick refers to the fact that the next person has received your message. So if your message gets a double tick, you can consider that you are not blocked.
|Note: Wait for some time before jumping to conclusions immediately. It is possible that the person you are trying to contact may not be connected to the internet at the moment. In such cases, they will not receive your messages. So it is advisable to wait some time before thinking you are blocked. Also, if they have deleted their account, you will not be able to send messages.
Check Their Profile Picture
Has the person set up any profile pictures you could see previously but now can’t? If yes, then it indicates two things:
1. First, you may have been blocked by the person.
2. Second, the person might have simply removed their profile.
To confirm whether you have been blocked or if the person has removed their profile, you have to cross-verify with other methods.
|Exception: This method only works if the person has not excluded you from viewing their profile. If they have, then you will not be able to see their profile picture, even if they have not blocked you.
Try Adding Them to A WhatsApp Group
It is an excellent method of determining if you are blocked by someone. In this case, you just need to try to add the person you suspect has blocked you to a group. And if you receive a “couldn’t add xyz” pop-up on your screen, it indicates that you are blocked.
When someone blocks you on WhatsApp, they prevent you from adding them to any group or community. Therefore, encountering an error message while attempting to add the person in question clearly indicates being blocked. So you can try out this method too.
Review Their Last Seen and Online Status
Last seen is the time when someone opened WhatsApp for the last time. And online status refers to that “online” word written under the person’s contact when they are online.
Check if you can view any of these things. If you can, then you are not blocked. Conversely, you can assume you are blocked if you cannot see either of these things.
But this method relies on a mutual exchange of permissions. It’s only applicable if you have allowed them to see your online status and last seen. If you haven’t allowed them, you won’t be able to see theirs either. It’s kind of a give-and-take thing. So make sure you have allowed them first, and then check theirs.
Wondering how you can verify if you have permitted them? Here are the steps:
1. Go to the WhatsApp Settings (on Android, click on the three-dot icon and select Settings).
2. On the settings page, tap on Privacy.
3. Click on “Last seen and online” under the Who can see my person info section.
4. Now, check if you have permitted them to view your last seen and online status.
|Exception: You can only see their last seen and online status if you are allowed to. There are chances that they have not allowed you to see both of these things. And in that case, you won’t be able to verify using this method even if you are not blocked.
Try Calling Them
Verifying if you have been blocked through a call may not be the most reliable method, but it is worth a try if the person is on call with another person.
Try calling them, and if it tells you that they are busy somewhere else, consider that you are not blocked. They are on call with someone else.
|Important: The call will ring even if you are blocked. So don’t think it won’t ring and disconnect automatically if you are blocked.
Access Their Status
This is another method that indicates that you’re blocked. You just need to see if you can view their status. If you can see, you can be confident that you are not blocked. And if you cannot view it, it might indicate that you are blocked.
But it is important not to jump to conclusions immediately. There is a possibility that you are not actually blocked; the person may have simply hidden their status from you or haven’t uploaded anything.
Therefore, if you choose to use this method to determine whether you are blocked, it is crucial to confirm your suspicions by cross-checking in other ways. Relying solely on this method can lead to misunderstandings.
Ask A Common Friend
Do you have a mutual friend who is also connected with the person in question on WhatsApp? If yes, then you can ask that friend to confirm if you are blocked.
There are always chances that the person has deleted their account or has not allowed you to see their online status, last seen, or profile picture.
In that case, this method can help you. You can just ask that mutual friend to see if he can connect with the person. You can conclude that you are blocked if he can while you cannot.
Check From Your Other Account
Do you have more than one WhatsApp account? If so, you can use that to find out if you are blocked or if the issue is something else.
Try messaging them, calling them, and checking their last seen, profile picture, and WhatsApp status from that account.
You can be blocked if you can connect with them from your alternate account.
⏩ If they are aware of your alternate account, there is a high probability that they have also blocked that account. And in such a case, you may be unable to find the truth using this method.
|Exception: If the person has not allowed unknown people to view his status, online status, profile pic, and last seen, you won’t be able to check all these. However, you can try messaging and calling them. These two things will work.
Check From Their Mobile
This is the most reliable method. All the methods mentioned above have some conditions and exceptions, but this method doesn’t. If you have access to their WhatsApp, just follow these steps.
1. Open the Settings on WhatsApp (on Android, tap on the three-dot icon and choose Settings).
2. Tap on Privacy to open privacy settings.
3. Scroll a bit and click on “Blocked Contacts.”
4. Search your number there. If you find it there, you’re blocked; otherwise, you aren’t.
Final Words: Know If Someone Has Blocked You on WhatsApp
In this article, we’ve walked you through the signs of being blocked by someone. So whether you’re just curious or worried that you’ve been blocked, the mentioned tips will help you know if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp or not. And if you have any questions, I would love to clear them up.